top of page
  • Writer's pictureLee Weber

Repentance explained by brother William Matthew "Bill" Cuthbert

REPENT= μετανοέω METANOEO Verb meaning TO CHANGE YOUR MIND, or in exact, meaning: μετά META= AFTER and νοέω NOEO= MIND. (The act of changing ones mind). REPENTANCE= μετάνοια METANOIA Noun CHANGE YOUR MIND, or in exact, meaning: It is the noun of the CHANGE YOUR MIND and not the action. (Change ones mind). REPENT/REPENTED/REGRET=μεταμέλομαι metamelomai: I change my mind (meta=change/after melomai to care about/to care to/to do) NB: occurs 6 times in the New Testament, and never in regard to a salvific context. WITHOUT REPENTANCE/NOT TO BE REPENTED OF= ἀμεταμέλητος ametamelētos: unregretted/not to regret/not repentant of/not changing ones mind. OLD TESTAMENT REPENT= shuwb שׁוּב Verb meaning: TO TURN BACK/RETURN/COME BACK. REPENT= nacham נָחַם Verb meaning: MOVED TO PITY/HAVE COMPASSION/HAVE SORROW Nigh on every single post in regard to Salvation I read says, "REPENT OF YOUR SINS TO BE SAVED". How many times has one got to shout out, THAT'S NOT EVEN IN THE BIBLE....! Do people not even read their Bibles any more or something, do they just rely upon what someone else says, or have they just become deaf, dumb and blind. I just don't understand how a doctrine is made up from something not found in the Bible, I can understand Mormons making this doctrine stick, as the book of Mormon mentions, “REPENT OF YOUR SINS TO BE SAVED”. But the HOLY BIBLE DOES NOT......! I have wrote to scores of big Ministries, plastered Blogs, made video's and written umpteen notes in regard to this madness, and not a single response. Well apart from one that said, “YOU HAVE BLASPHEMED THE HOLY GHOST FOR QUESTIONING GODS ANOINTED SERVANT”.... Anyway, enough of my rant, you have a free will to choose to be ignorant and also a free will to remove the scales from your eyes. For, repent of sins to be in the bible, which it is not, it would have use entirely different Greek words, and such words together. As the erroneously understood and taught, “repentance”, has connotations of, a forsaking of sin, and such a forsaking of sin, would use an entirely different usage of words. I bid; Forsake: ἐγκαταλείπω egkataleipō: abandon, to leave behind, utterly desert. Sin: ἁμαρτία hamartia: to miss the mark, to err, be mistaken. So then, to forsake sin would be rendered, “egkataleipō hamartia”, meaning to abandon and to leave behind any mistakes, err, and a missing the mark, that God has set us. And I hasten to add, this is impossible, hence Christ came and erred not, Imputing His perfect record to us mere mortals. This said, does this utter forsaking of sin sound like the gospel message that saves...? To repent then, this would be, “metanoeō or metamelomai”, meaning to think afterwards, a change of mind and/or to care to change ones mind. This change of mind being in regard to...? Lets examine, and let the scripture and the definitions speak for them selves, I will add either, “utterly forsake/forsakes all sin” or, “change/changes mind/a change of mind” in where repent/repents/repenteth goes. Also if you have time, take a close look at the context. Luke 17:3: Take heed to yourselves: If thy brother trespass against thee, rebuke him; and if he utterly forsakes all sin, forgive him.....? Luke 17:3: Take heed to yourselves: If thy brother trespass against thee, rebuke him; and if he changes his mind, forgive him. II Corinthians 7:8: For though I made you sorry with a letter, I do not utterly forsake all sin, though I did utterly forsake all sin: for I perceive that the same epistle hath made you sorry, though it were but for a season....? (Note the word perceive, of the mind) II Corinthians 7:8: For though I made you sorry with a letter, I do not change my mind, though I did change my mind: for I perceive that the same epistle hath made you sorry, though it were but for a season. (Note the word perceive, of the mind) II Corinthians 7:10: For godly sorrow worketh utterly forsake all sin to salvation not to be utterly forsake all sin of: but the sorrow of the world worketh death....? II Corinthians 7:10: For godly sorrow worketh a change of mind to salvation not to be regretted of: but the sorrow of the world worketh death. Mark 1:15: And saying, The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand: utterly forsake all sin ye, and believe the gospel.....? Mark 1:15: And saying, The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand: change your mind ye, and believe the gospel. That all said, here are some FACTS Please take the time to read them, and even your whole Bible in Context....! Here's 20 times that God Repented, to a fool who believes repent means to forsake sin, or make a U-turn from sin, please bear in mind who you are about to call a sinner...... 1. Genesis 6:6: And it REPENTED the LORD that he had made man on the earth, and it grieved him at his heart. 2. Genesis 6:7: And the LORD said, I will destroy man whom I have created from the face of the earth; both man, and beast, and the creeping thing, and the fowls of the air; for it REPENTETH me that I have made them. 3. Exodus 32:14: And the LORD REPENTED of the evil which he thought to do unto his people. 4. Deuteronomy 32:36: For the LORD shall judge his people, and REPENT himself for his servants, when he seeth that [their] power is gone, and [there is] none shut up, or left. 5. Judges 2:18: And when the LORD raised them up judges, then the LORD was with the judge, and delivered them out of the hand of their enemies all the days of the judge: for it REPENTED the LORD because of their groanings by reason of them that oppressed them and vexed them. 6. I Samuel 15:11: It REPENTETH me that I have set up Saul [to be] king: for he is turned back from following me, and hath not performed my commandments. And it grieved Samuel; and he cried unto the LORD all night. 7. I Samuel 15:35: And Samuel came no more to see Saul until the day of his death: nevertheless Samuel mourned for Saul: and the LORD REPENTED that he had made Saul king over Israel. 8. I Chronicles 21:15: And God sent an angel unto Jerusalem to destroy it: and as he was destroying, the LORD beheld, and he REPENTED him of the evil, and said to the angel that destroyed, It is enough, stay now thine hand. And the angel of the LORD stood by the threshingfloor of Ornan the Jebusite. 9. Psalm 135:14: For the LORD will judge his people, and he will REPENT himself concerning his servants. 10. Psalm 106:45: And he remembered for them his covenant, and REPENTED according to the multitude of his mercies. 11. Jeremiah 18:10: If it do evil in my sight, that it obey not my voice, then I will REPENT of the good, wherewith I said I would benefit them. 12. Jeremiah 26:19: Did Hezekiah king of Judah and all Judah put him at all to death? did he not fear the LORD, and besought the LORD, and the LORD REPENTED him of the evil which he had pronounced against them? Thus might we procure great evil against our souls. 13. Jeremiah 26:3: If so be they will hearken, and turn every man from his evil way, that I may REPENT me of the evil, which I purpose to do unto them because of the evil of their doings. 14. Jeremiah 26:13: Therefore now amend your ways and your doings, and obey the voice of the LORD your God; and the LORD will REPENT him of the evil that he hath pronounced against you. 15. Jeremiah 42:10: If ye will still abide in this land, then will I build you, and not pull [you] down, and I will plant you, and not pluck [you] up: for I REPENT me of the evil that I have done unto you. 16. Amos 7:3: The LORD REPENTED for this: It shall not be, saith the LORD. 17. Amos 7:6: The LORD REPENTED for this: This also shall not be, saith the Lord GOD. 18. Jonah 3:9: Who can tell [if] God will turn and REPENT, and turn away from his fierce anger, that we perish not? 19. Jonah 3:10: And God saw their works, that they turned from their evil way; and God REPENTED of the evil, that he had said that he would do unto them; and he did [it] not. 20. Joel 2:13: And rend your heart, and not your garments, and turn unto the LORD your God: for he [is] gracious and merciful, slow to anger, and of great kindness, and REPENTETH him of the evil. I hope that this was enough, alas, I can do none other...... Hosea 4:6a: My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge: because thou hast rejected knowledge, I will also reject thee, that thou shalt be no priest to me: John 8:32: And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. II Timothy 2:15: Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Original Sin Refuted

The teaching that we were born with Adam's sin is very popular, most Christ followers believe it, and I used to believe it too, but now...

Refuting Calvinism (TULIP)

Pretty every Christian has heard of the system of Calvinism, created in the 1600's by John Calvin. This system says that salvation is...

Comments


bottom of page